Life is a marathon, not a sprint

2012 ‘s motto : simplify

2012’s goal : letting go of stuff . I am leaning towards the minimalist philosophy of essential, function & my passion.. (Notice I used the word leaning.)

I will post what worked for me and what didn’t.  Here is plan A.

I will remove (one room at a time) everything that I can donate or sell in a garage sale (never had one, would like to have one… my stuff is mostly books and craft supplies).

I will then remove everything that does not belong into the room and place these items  in baskets labeled by room.

Remember function, need & passion. Function, need & passion. Function, need & passion.

Owning fewer (chosen) stuff but the best I can afford. Not quantity but quality. So instead of 5 sheet sets, 2 with high thread count will do. 🙂

I hope to reap the benefits of less stress , more time (less taking care of stuff) for friends & the things in my life I am passionate about. Hopefully I will save some $ that way too .No more just in case purchases.

I don’t own  knickknacks…   I own books. Lots of them.  My ” collection ” consists out of  “creative printouts”  & ” ideas” ripped out of magazines. I am glad I discovered pinterest !!! I can now  keep my creative stuff online and out of my personal living space. My kindle just gave out yesterday (5 way controller quit working for some reason) . So for now I am back dealing with physical books.  Did I mention I have lots of them?

My personal space has always been a barometer to what is going on inside of me. When my mind becomes “clogged” and/or  overwhelmed, my surrounding becomes cluttered up. You know what I mean? Anybody ?

So this is what I did today.

I looked around my bedroom and I saw books everywhere & my tv (I hardly ever watch tv). So first thing I did is, I removed the tv out of my bedroom. Bedrooms are for sleeping & cuddling. Than I started to remove books I am not reading right now (I miss my kindle … no clutter and an entire library at my fingertips and nobody knows that I am reading four books at the ame time). I than removed the stacks of work related papers on my dresser.  Seems like my bedroom is my favorite place to hang out. My laptop is there, I always read there . I occasionally listen to teaching cds or music in here…. Not often but some times. Most of my teaching tapes I listen to commuting from and to work. About that in another post.

About simplify2012

Just an ordinary woman saved by grace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

